Creative Sound Blaster Z Review

Posted by: Tony Le Bourne on: 04-12-2012 [ 5 comment(s) ]

Today we take a look at the new entry level sound card from Creative, the Sound Blaster Z which promises to improve your audio experience for games and entertainment.

Read article

Tagged as: Creative

« XSPC RayStorm 750 RS360 Kit Review · Creative Sound Blaster Z Review · Lian Li PC-X2000FN Review »

Creative Sound Blaster Z Review

Mishima
Administrator



Posts: 4523
Joined: 2009-07-28

#26734 Posted on: 04.12.2012 22:26:03
Its nice to see an audio review up on the site, this is a great review and a nice looking card. I've always liked Creative kit, had an xtreme music and now have an X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro.

Sent from my GT-I9100P using Tapatalk 2

Creative Sound Blaster Z Review

I3R0K3N7FEET
Administrator



Posts: 690
Joined: 2011-02-26

#26735 Posted on: 04.12.2012 23:09:28
yeah it's a great card very little to moan about really, the only reason it didn't get gold is because it didn't seem substantially better than what you can get out of a 40-50 card new. In the right build the red unit would look sweet and can really add some character. I really think that if people love music, love watching movies on their pc or love gaming and dont know what else to buy a sound card and decent speaker set up is a must! it can add so much depth. it is easy to overlook things you cant see!

Creative Sound Blaster Z Review

kreegor
Administrator



Posts: 425
Joined: 2011-01-21

#26736 Posted on: 05.12.2012 00:36:17
Quote:
Originally Posted by I3R0K3N7FEET View Post
yeah it's a great card very little to moan about really, the only reason it didn't get gold is because it didn't seem substantially better than what you can get out of a 40-50 card new. In the right build the red unit would look sweet and can really add some character. I really think that if people love music, love watching movies on their pc or love gaming and dont know what else to buy a sound card and decent speaker set up is a must! it can add so much depth. it is easy to overlook things you cant see!
I agree! I bought a good set of headphones and a decent sound card and I can never go back to onboard now! It makes a massive difference having good sound.

Creative Sound Blaster Z Review

BurningFeetMan
Administrator



Posts: 113
Joined: 2012-01-06

#26763 Posted on: 09.12.2012 10:07:28
Thanks for the review mate.

It's a great looking card for sure. I like the thought of a discreet audio card but, like many people, I can't afford to drop 80 notes on something that I may not find a huge difference in.

Something I just thought of. The included microphone, I like the idea. But it plugs into the rear mic jack. That would mean that if you had your own headset (I have the Roccat Kave 5.1) you would be unable to use the mic on it? You would have to make a choice which mic you wanted to use if you didn't have front audio.

Nice review mate

Creative Sound Blaster Z Review

Tevion
Administrator



Posts: 172
Joined: 2009-07-29

#26775 Posted on: 10.12.2012 11:21:20
nice review, there arent many of this card about good to see your verdict on it. thank you

Post New Comment

Click here to post a comment for this article on the message forum