AMD To Celebrate 30 Year In Graphics And Gaming

👤by Tim Harmer Comments 📅18.08.2014 14:55:22





On Saturday 23rd August AMD will be hosting a livestream to celebrate 30 years in Graphics and Gaming. Hosted by AMD's Chief Gaming Scientist Richard Huddy, the event will showcase AMD's history in the industry including some of the most important technological developments for the PC in the last three decades.

Fans of the old ATI brand will of course not be left out as the webcast will heavily feature highlights of GPUs past, no doubt including the seminal R300 (fondly remembered as both the Radeon 9700 Pro and 9500 Pro) and R770 XT (AKA Radeon HD4870). With all that history in fact one hopes that the massive leaps in the CPU side of the business aren't forgotten.

The livestream may also feature more information on what's next for AMD in this arena. Rumours are swirling of a new GPU called Tonga which may shake up AMD's current lineup, and presupposing it's ready there's no better time to show it off.

You can share your experiences and photos on social media using #AMD30Live, and check out some memories of the past 30 years at http://instagram.com/amd. The Livestream begins at 10am EDT/7am PDT (3pm UK Time) and will be available on demand after the event.

      Please share your thoughts by commenting below!

Comments

Recent Stories

« BIOSTAR Release A New ITX SOC Design · AMD To Celebrate 30 Year In Graphics And Gaming · MSI X99S GAMING 9 AC To Feature On-Board Streaming Engine »